No one that looks like me…

It baffles me when I look in corporate America and I don’t see anyone that looks like me. There has to be a change there so much things that are going on that someone cannot relate to you.. there is no diversity.. I am tired of having to take lower level jobs not because. Of lack of education but it’s because of who you know not what you know. And sad to say skin color.. I think its time for black communities to unite and. Create our own.. They don’t mind us doing clerical work… Maintenance.. But never the face of the company..

Published by

understandingdee

I love me!

8 thoughts on “No one that looks like me…”

  1. I’ve been saying this for such a long time. I hate that we don’t create our own businesses and opportunities. We have to put money back in our communities and create opportunities for each other where no one else will.

      1. I know. But we are so focused on having the hottest and best things that we would rather seek immediate gratification than group progression.

  2. Corporate American has been run by old white guys since oh, 1776 (and earlier). Even now, depending on the industry it still tends to be old guys, although not quite as white. Around the world old guys of local color.

    Education is the key or at least it is the “entry card”. Science Technology Engineering Mathematics Business degrees, all valid starting points, and yet no guarantee on a rise to the top.

    As 60+ old white guy, I have a lot of respect for the risks Dr. Martin Luther King took back in the 60s. I was a kid at the time living in white suburbia and pretty clueless. Now I at least have some grasp on what I don’t know.

    I work with women and people of color of many nationalities at my company in various levels. As I look around, my company – a famous oil field services company that shall remain nameless – seems more progressive than others at hiring – and promoting – women and people of color into higher levels of management despite the its stodgy history. Yet education is still the key to entry.

    I see a much better world than the one Dr. King lived in, but we still have a hell of a long way to go. It won’t happen by itself.

      1. Yeah, it is often BOTH what you know AND who you know. Also depends on how proactive HR is in your company with respect to embracing diversity. The more diverse the organization, the more importance is placed on diversity.

        Still it takes time. The Israelites had to wander in the desert for 40 years to let the old generation die off. It has only been 52 years since the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom. Are race relations better? I think so. Is employment better? Maybe? Education? Yes.

        I think we are all sickened by the wrongful deaths and other abuse of black men and women at the hands of the police. No doubt that DWB is a real issue in America. If you want to check out some righteous white anger directed at the police, check out F J Goulder for example: https://fjgouldner.wordpress.com/2015/06/06/good-cops/

        Sorry, I’m ranting now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

